Notes from the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Dermatologische Forschung (ADF), Berlin, http://www.adf-online.de

Please cite this paper as: Notes from the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Dermatologische Forschung (ADF), Berlin, http://www.adf-online.de. Experimental Dermatology 2007; 16: 705.

This year's annual meeting of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Dermatologische Forschung (ADF, the German Society of Experimental Dermatology) took place on 8-10 March 2007 in beautiful Freiburg, Germany. In keeping with good ADF tradition, the meeting started with a wonderful workshop on 'The biology and the pathology of the basal membrane' organized by Leena Bruckner-Tuderman (Freiburg), Detlef Zillikens (Lübeck), Helmut Hintner (Salzburg) and John McGrath (London), who also gave a fantastic Special Guest Lecture on 'Gene hunting within the cutaneous basement membrane'. The workshop featured talks by Leena Bruckner-Tuderman (Freiburg), Roswitha Nischt (Köln), Markus Rüegg (Basel), Tobias Huber (Freiburg), Cassian Sitaru (Lübeck) and Johann Bauer (Salzburg). Other highlights of the meeting included the four 'Quo Vadis'-lectures by Martin Röcken (Tübingen, on biologics in dermatology), Michael Schön (Würzburg, on the pathogenesis of psoriasis), Cord Sunderkötter (Münster, on vasculitis) and Karin Scharffetter-Kochanek, on antiaging) as well as the Günter Goerz lecture (honouring lifetime academic achievements in investigative dermatology) by Eva-Bettina Bröcker (Würzburg, on melanoma).

In addition to 12 ADF members receiving poster or travel awards, the ADF rewarded the following scientists with one of her four prestigious awards (honouring outstanding research achievements within the ADF community):

Vera Mahler (Erlangen) received the ECARF/ADF-Award in Allergy Research (sponsor: European Centre for Allergy Research Foundation, Berlin) for her work on reducing the allergenic reactivity of tomatoes.

Dieter Maurer (Wien) obtained the **Paul Langerhans-Award** (honouring distinguished ADF investigators, sponsor: BiogenIdec) for his work on the characterization of subtypes and functions of dendritic cells.

Selma Ugurel (Mannheim) was honoured with the **ADF Oncology-Award** (sponsor: Erwin and Irmgard Egner Foundation) for her work on the identification melanoma biomarkers.

Katrin Loser (Münster) received the **Egon Macher-Award** (which is the ADF young investigator prize, sponsor: 3M) for her work on the mechanisms of modulation of regulatory T-cell numbers.

The ADF also, for the first time, awarded a **research fellowship grant**, which went to Christian Hafner (Regensburg). The research fellowship grant, which is granted jointly by the ADF and the German Society of Dermatology (DDG), allows young scientists at the beginning of their career to train in experimental dermatology.

The ADF gratefully acknowledges the efforts of the local organizing team led by Leena Bruckner-Tuderman (Freiburg), which made this year's ADF meeting a great success and lots of fun. Also, the ADF board of directors recognizes with gratitude the support of the ADF corporate sponsors: Abbott GmbH & Co. KG, Biotest AG, Dr Wolff Arzneimittel GmbH & Co., health&media GmbH, Helio-Vital, HERMAL Kurt Herrmann GmbH & Co. OHG, Hoffmann-La Roche AG, Schering AG, Serono GmbH and Wyeth Pharma GmbH. For further information and pictures from the 34th annual meeting in Freiburg, please visit the ADF website at: http://www.adf-online.de.