ADF Awards

The ADF announces various prizes to reward scientists / researchers from the field of dermatological research. In addition to the Paul Langerhans Award for established researchers and the Egon Macher Award for young investigators outstanding works in the field of allergy research (ADF / ECARF Award of European Allergy Research) and oncology (Dermato Oncology Junior Scientist Award) will be honored on the ADF Annual Meetings.

In addition, the best posters will be awarded with a poster prize.

For the complete tender texts and the detailed allocation policies please click on the highlighted link.

Please note:
For poster prices, the ADF / ECARF Award for European Allergy Research, the Dermato Oncology Junior Scientist Awards and for the Translational Research Award, a separate application is not necessary. For these prices all abstracts submitted before the deadline will be evaluated.
Submissions for the Paul Langerhans Award and the Egon Macher Award should be made in all cases exclusively in electronic form as one PDF file to the ADF office.
Submission deadline: November 01.


ADF/ECARF-Award for European Allergy Research

- The Allergy-Award is supported by the European Centre for Allergy Research Foundation (ECARD) -

The “European Center for Allergy Research Foundation (ECARF)” located at the Department of Dermatology and Allergy, Charité Berlin and the ADF want to foster research activities in the field of allergy. Therefore, they announce the “ADF/ECARF-Award for European Allergy Research” donated by ECARF.
The award is in endowed with 5.000,- Euros every year.

The selection of the awardee is done by the jury during the ADF annual meeting. The award will be given to a study-group or a group of collaborators which conducted the research with combined efforts. The award can also be given to non-members of the ADF. Studies in which a member of the jury serves as the first or the last author will not be considered.

All abstracts (poster or presentation) submitted in time to the annual meeting of the ADF will be considered. 

The awardee is asked to publish a short report at the ADF home journal Experimental Dermatology.

Board of trustees:

  • Prof. Dr. Torsten Zuberbier (Vorsitzender)
  • Prof. Dr. Tilo Biedermann
  • Prof. Dr. Nicolas Hunzelmann
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Traidl-Hoffmann



Past awardees of the ADF/ECARF-Award for European Allergy Research

Miriam Hils, Munich
P002: IgE and anaphylaxis specific to the carbohydrate alpha-gal depend on interleukin-4

Frederick Hartung, Düsseldorf
P071: A gene variant of AKR1C3 contributes to interindividual susceptibilities to atopic dermatitis triggered by particulate air pollution

Nils Scheib, Münster
P005: The gut microbiome is decisive in the outcome of allergic contact dermatitis

Johannes Mayer, Wellington/Marburg
P110: IL-13 mediated ILC-DC signaling in naive skin imprints dermal dendritic cells to T helper 2 induction

Verena Raker, Mainz
P001: The Gut-Skin Axis: Bacterial Stimulation in the Gut Shapes Hapten-driven Inflammation of the Skin.

Monique Butze, Berlin
P087: Cold urticaria associated with a novel Phospholipase-C-Gamma-2 (PLCG2) mutation

No Award

Denise Rauer, Augsburg
P010: Nasal microbiome under natural pollen exposure conditions: a time series analysis in allergic rhinitis patients vs. health subjects

Leonhard von Meyenn
P135 IL-9-producing T helper cells are a subpopulation of PPAR-gamma+ TH2 cells

Talkea Schmidt, Mainz
How autoimmunity fights with allergy: Impaired development of allergic contact dermatitis in type I diabetic mice

Hansjörg Baurecht, Kiel
Epidermal lipid composition, barrier integrity and eczematous inflammation impact skin microbiome composition

Andrea Braun, Göttingen
Epidermal barrier dysfunction in FlgHrnr-deficient mice promotes allergen sensitization and aggravates experimental asthma in a mouse model of MC903-induced atopic dermatitis

Thomas Volz, Munich
NOD2 signaling critically influences sensitization to orally ingested allergens and severity of anaphylaxis

Florian Woelbing, München
Specific TLR activation mediates innate immune signal triggered co- factor dependent anaphylaxis

Thomas Marichal und Philipp Starkl, Stanford
A beneficial role for immunoglobulin E in host defense against honeybee venom (Immunity /2013)

Kai Haenel, Aachen
IL-31 affects the formation of the mechanical skin barrier and strengthens the antimicrobial defense of the skin partially by upregulating IL-1alpha expression

Lavinia Paternoster, Bristol
Meta-analysis of genome-wide association studies on atopic dermatitis Identifies three novel risk loci

Marc Schmidt, Giessen
Crucial role for human Toll-like receptor 4 in the development of contact allergy to nickel

Stefanie Kunz, Freiburg
A role for T cell independent interleukin-10 in allergen specific immunotherapy

Christian Moebs, Marburg
Specific immunotherapy leads to differential induction of cellular and humoral Bet v 1-specific immune responses in birch pollen allergic individuals

Verena Kupas, Münster

Sabine Ring, Heidelberg

Christoph Tripp, Innsbruck

Vera Mahler, Erlangen

N. Lorenz, Mainz

Miriam Wittmann, Hannover

Thilo Jakob, München

Erika Jensen-Jarolim, Wien